Clean Grout Without Using Harsh Chemicals

We have dark slate tile with white grout in our entryway, kitchen and bathrooms. I don’t hate it but I’ve never really loved it. It’s not so much the tile that I didn’t care for as much as the dingy grout. Now that it’s restored back to it’s true white and no longer dingy grey, it’s really not too bad. I actually kinda like it! 

After trying numerous grout cleaning methods, I found this one to work the best. Most other methods involved some kind of bleach or chemical. I tried using a bleach pen, dish washing detergent gel, Soft Scrub, and even just straight bleach (definitely not recommended btw). All of them were more of a mess than they were worth and some of them turned my house into a death trap of toxic fumes. After a lot of trial and error, I found a method that works using simple, non toxic cleaning products. 

If you want to try this method all you’ll need is:
Oxyclean (or Baking soda and peroxide)
Distilled, white undiluted Vinegar in a spray bottle and
an old toothbrush or small scrubbing brush
 


 
The entry way grout looked the worst for obvious reasons. The kids take their shoes off when they walk in the door so this area gets a lot of traffic and dirt.

Here’s some dirty before shots…


 I made a thin paste of oxyclean and water and applied it onto the grout with a toothbrush. I sprayed undiluted vinegar over the grout lines (with the sprayer set on stream) and watched the fizzy magic go to work. Then I let it sit for about 30 minutes or so.


 After letting it sit, I gave it a quick little scrub with the toothbrush and then mopped the floor a couple of times with a hot water and vinegar rinse.
  
The results…



I also did my kitchen floor. I didn’t get before pictures but here are parts of the finished kitchen…


I was pleasantly surprised with how well this worked and how I was able to get the grout so white without using bleach!
The best part about this method was being able to clean the grout that meets up with the carpet and not worry about bleaching it. Oh yeah, and the fact that I didn’t pass out from bleach fumes was also a bonus!
Leave me a comment if you have any grout cleaning tips and I would love to hear if this works for you!
 
Thanks so much for stopping by!
DeNaya
 
2 thoughts on “Clean Grout Without Using Harsh Chemicals

  1. Wow! I had no idea! I have tons of grout in need of cleaning, but didn't want to use bleach, either. I'm definitely giving this a try! Thanks so much for sharing at Talented Tuesdays!

Leave a Reply

